Matchbox Coffee Porter

I’m sitting here staring at my coffee cup and I am wishing it is beer. I am wishing it is cold, refreshing, bitter, roasty, and has notes of bitter chocolate. I’m also wishing it would keep me awake as this state of drowsing is causing my dreams to  take place on the Windows XP desktop and this is starting to concern me. No, Norton, I am not concerned about these websites but thank you for hijacking my time anyway, now it’s time to fly into Minesweeper, bust up a few, get the high score of my waking life and then end it all with the curse of Internet Explorer 7. Indiana Jones had it easy.

It’s getting weird.

Well thank you Rob, thank you Keigan, as if it were a thought in a dream, enters the Matchbox Coffee Porter and my problems, they are a-solved.

The Matchbox Porter is about balance, but not balance in the traditional ale amber/pale sense. It is about balance between roast, chocolate, coffee notes with mouth feel and bitterness. If the beer slides too far in either direction it becomes unpalatable. Too much roast with a high bitterness causes flavors of turpentine or diesel, which makes for a very unpleasant beer. Too much chocolate and coffee turn the beer into a mocha bomb whose mouthfeel changes between sludge and coffee thinness, also unpleasant. So, as it often comes to, the beer is about balance and striking the perfect tuning note to let everything else be set in accordance.

Sweet realities are made of these, I am I to disagree. ..

Sweet realities are made of these, I am I to disagree. ..

This Matchbox Porter uses MCI Stout malt as a base. The MCI Stout malt has nice, plump kernels that have a low protein content and a high extract potential making it an excellent malt for beers that should have no haze and that are higher in alcohol content. Crisp Chocolate Malt, Roasted Barley, Crystal 120, and Carafa III were all used as supplementary malts, each offering a hefty cleft to the SRM of this beer. The inky blackness of this porter is due to these supplementary malts. The Carafa III malt is dehusked making it a great malt for adding color without bitterness allowing Rob and Keigan to utilize the other three supplimentary malts to a balanced degree and not throwing the beer flavor in one direction or the other. You’ll be able to find roasty, chocolatey, and caramely notes paired side by side with the coffee addition. Rob and Keigan add the cold press Sumatra blend to the brite tank just before carbonation for a flavor that is not too harsh and doesn’t overpower the beer. A lot of thought went into the design of this beer, and typical to Dangerous Man beers, it shows.

Let’s all think about balance. Like the balance between sleep and awake, or dreams and reality, or that dreams are reality. That’s pretty real, isn’t it? How can they not be part of reality as they are part of your thoughts which in turn are a part of reality. Ain’t nothing unreal in this world, a sentiment both pleasant and monstrous. Now. To explore the distant lands of Linux.

Goodnight; Drink local, drink dangerous!

